Newsletter November-January 2008

Sakya Tridzin Wangdu Nyingpo (Private Collection)

Recognizing and distinguishing the four principal types of hats depicted in Himalayan painting and sculpture is an important tool in the study of iconography. Tibetan religious traditions distinguish themselves from each other by wearing different coloured hats with variations on the four principal shapes: 1. pandita hat, 2. lotus hat, 3. Gampopa hat, 4. black hat.


Guru Dragpo, Cantor Arts Center at Stanford
Maps & Murals of Tibet
Next Issue: Feb - Apr 2008



About Us | Contact Info | Sign up | Site Map | Newsletter Archive

© 2007 The Shelley and Donald Rubin Foundation