Himalayan Art Resources

Subject: Animals Mythical and Real

Animals Mythical & Real | Animal Relationships Guide/Glossary | Animal Headed Gods & Deities | Three Symbols of Victory | Seven Jewels of Royal Power | Snakes & Serpents | Prayer Flags | Masks

The two deer are part of a set of three pieces which would include a Dharma Wheel as the center piece. The garuda birds are decorative pieces from rooftops, belong to larger torana constructions and some are deity figures. The elephants and horses are part of a seven piece set called the Seven Jewels of Royalty.

Animal List:
- Deer
- Dog
- Dragon
- Elephant
- Garuda
- Horse
- Kinnara
- Lion/Snow Lion
- Monkey
- Naga
- Rat/mongoose
- Scorpion
- Sharabha
- Tiger
- Others...