Himalayan Art Resources

Item: Book Cover

གླེགས་ཤིང་། 書皮
(item no. 65316)
Origin Location Nepal
Date Range 1600 - 1699
Lineages Hindu
Material Wood
Collection Rubin Museum of Art
Catalogue # acc. #C2003.56.1
Notes about the Central Figure

Classification: Object/Concept

Interpretation / Description

Ten avatars of Vishnu. These ten avatars, or incarnations, of Vishnu are divided into four periods of time or ages of the world. In the first age are the Fish, Tortoise, Boar and Man-lion incarnations. In the second age are the Dwarf, Rama with an Axe and Rama of the Ramayana Epic. For the third age is Krishna. The fourth age is represented by the Buddha and Kalki. Kalki has yet to come.

Jeff Watt, 9-2005

Related Items
Thematic Sets
Sculpture: Book Covers Main Page
Subject: Buddha-Like Figures (Other Traditions)
Collection of Rubin Museum of Art: Sculpture (Gallery 1)
Collection of Rubin Museum of Art: Nepal
Hindu Deity: Vishnu Main Page
Sculpture: Bookcovers, Nepal
Collection of Rubin Museum of Art: Book Covers