Himalayan Art Resources

Ritual Object: Initiation Crowns Page

Ritual Objects Main Page

Subjects, Topics & Types:
- Description (below)
- Hats of the Himalayas
- Masterworks
- Confusions
- Others...

Initiation crowns are commonly made in sets of twenty-five. They can be either painted, sewn or assembled from precious metals and stones.

The Five Buddha Crown is worn during initiation empowerments and rituals. The five petal-like segments represent the Five Buddhas of the five directions, also known as the Five Symbolic Buddhas. These different Buddhas play a symbolic role in the initiation ceremonies and the mandalas that are constructed to accompany them.

Jeff Watt [updated 12-2016]