Himalayan Art Resources

Painting Set: Seven Mothers (Sapta Matraka)

The Seven Mothers are regarded as the important Shaktis (feminine energy) that motivate and empower the male Hindu gods. They are often depicted as a group surrounding sculptures of Ganesha, the elephant-headed son of Parvati.

The Seven Mothers are:
1. Brahmani consort of Brahma
2. Maheshvari consort of Shiva
3. Kaumari consort of Skanda
4. Vaishnavi consort of Vishnu
5. Varahi consort of Varaha (Vishnu Boar incarnation)
6. Indrani consort of Indra
7. Chamunda