Himalayan Art Resources

Wheel of Life: Five Sections

Five Sections Page

The original Sanskrit source text describing the Wheel of Life presents five sections or paths. Generally these five sections do not contain an individual buddha. However, it appears some five section depictions have adopted the six buddha system which appears to have originated with the Shitro teachings of Karma Lingpa, also contained in the Bardo Thodal.

- Wheel of Life: Components
- Six Buddhas of the Six Realms
- Wheel of Life Main Page

Jeff Watt [updated 7-2022]

(The images below are a selection of most of the five section Wheel of Life paintings).