Himalayan Art Resources

Tibet: Tsurpu Monastery

Tsurphu Monastery | Tsurphu (Sarah Richardson Archive) | Map of U-Tsang | Karmapa Main Page | Karmapa Outline

Tsurpu Monastery was founded by the 1st Karmapa Dusum Kyenpa (1110-1193) in 1159. The Karmapas are a line of successive teachers aknowledged as the first lineage of reincarnating lamas in Tibetan Buddhism. The main seat of the Karmapa is Tsurpu Monastery, north-west of Lhasa, and the specific tradition is known as the Kamtsang Kagyu (Karma Kagyu).