Himalayan Art Resources

Painting Set: Kundeling Incarnation Lineage

Kundeling Incarnation Lineage | Gelug Tradition Main Page

Subjects, Topics & Types:
- Kundeling/Tatsag Description (below)
- Kundeling Painting Set Outline
- Artist: Khazi Lhazo
- Incarnation Lineages Outline
- Confusions
- Others...

The Kundeling painting set below is missing the 5th Tatsag composition and was likely a nine painting set in total with the inclusion of Manjushri. The set was most probably created after the passing of the 8th Tatsag after 1810 and before the recognition of the 9th Tatsag (born in 1811). It is not currently known when the 9th was recognized which could have been up to five or ten years later.

The composition and execution of the paintings in a Chamdo style follows very closely with other known paintings, both in private and museum collections, associated with the Chamdo region of Eastern Tibet.

In six of the compositions there is depicted the architectural form of a monastery associated with that particular incarnation of Kundeling.

Kundeling Incarnation Lineage:
1. Baso Chokyi Gyaltsen, 1st Tatsag (1402-1473). Lhanwa Sogon Monastery.
2. Jetsun Lhakyab, 2nd Tatsag (1474-1508). Chamdo Jampa Ling Monastery.
3. Liyul Chokyi Gyalpo, 3rd Tatsag (1509-1526).
4. Lhawang Chokyi Gyaltsen, 4th Tatsag (1537-1604). Kharsar Tashi Rabten Monastery.
5. Ngagwang Chokyi Wangchug (1606-1652). Khar Kya Chode Hermitage.
6. Ngagwang Konchog Nyima, 6th Tatsag (1653-1707). Tatsag Lhundrub Dechen Monastery.
7. Lobzang Palden Gyaltsen, 7th Tatsag (1708-1758). Chagzam Tubten Ling Monastery.
8. Gyaltsab Yeshe Tanpa'i Gonpo, 8th Tatsag (1760-1810). Podrang Ganden Namgyal Monastery.

The Later Line of Incarnations:
9. Ngagwang Lobzang Tanpa'i Gyaltsen (1811-1848)
10. Ngagwang Palden Chokyi Gyaltsen (1850-1886)
11. Ngagwang Tubten Kalzang Tanpa'i Dronme (1886-1918)
12. Lobzang Tubten Jigme Gyaltsen (1924-1956)
13a. Lobzang Yeshe Jampal Gyatso (1959-) Recognized by the Kundeling Labrang.
13b. Tenzin Chokyi Gyaltsen (1983-) Recognized by the Dalai Lama in 1993.

Jeff Watt 8-2011 [updated 10-2017]