Ariana Maki Main Page | A. Maki Outline Page
Paro Dzong (site name: Paro Rinpung Dzong; location: Paro district). The current Rinpung Dzong (rin spungs rdzong) was rebuilt after a catastrophic fire in 1907. It was originally built in 1644, replacing the previous dzong owned by descendants of the local Drukpa Kagyu practitioner Hungral Drung Drung. The annual Paro festival is held at the dzong between the 11th and 15th days of the second Bhutanese lunar month, with a large applique thongdrel (mthong grol) of the Eight Manifestations of Guru Rinpoche displayed in the pre-dawn hours of the final day. Rinpung Dzong is the local district headquarters for the administrations of both the government and monastic population. A resident monk body oversees state rituals and takes care of the more than ten temples and shrines inside. The nearby Ta Dzong (lta rdzong), which currently houses the National Museum of Bhutan, was built in the mid 17th century as a watchtower for Rinpung Dzong.
Ariana Maki 3-2012