Himalayan Art Resources

Arhat/Sthavira: Kanakavatsa Main Page

Kanakavatsa Masterworks

Subjects, Topics & Types:
- Kanakavatsa Description (below)
- Tibetan Iconography
- Chinese Iconography
- Elders/Arhats Main Page
- Confusions
- Others...

Tibetan: Neten Serbe'u (gnas brtan g.ser be'u)

Kanakavatsa, the Elder (Tibetan: ne ten, ser be'u, Sanskrit: Sthavira Kanakavatsa, English: the Golden Calf): the 7th arhat from the set of 16 great arhats.

"In the excellent land of Kashmir is the noble elder Kanakavatsa, surrounded by 500 arhats; homage to the One holding a jewel lasso." (Sakya liturgical verse).

The standard iconographic form of Kanakavatsa typically portrays him holding a long jewel lasso in both hands - a gift of the nagas. The Sixteen Great Arhats are generally painted as a set. The full group would include the buddha Shakyamuni, the 16 arhats, the attendant Dharmatala, the patron Hvashang and the Four Guardians of the Directions: Vaishravana, Virupaksha, Dritarashtra and Virudhaka.

Database Search: All Images

Jeff Watt 5-99 [updated 8-2017, 1-2020]