Himalayan Art Resources

Arhat/Sthavira: Angaja Main Page

Angaja Masterworks

Subjects, Topics & Types:
- Angaja Description (below)
- Masterworks
- Yongle Style
- Tibetan Iconography
- Chinese Iconography
- Arhat/Sthavira Main Page
- Confusions
- Others...

Tibetan Neten Yanlag Jung (gnas brtan yan lag jung)

Angaja the Elder (Tibetan: ne ten, yan lag Jung, Sanskrit: Sthavira Angaja): the 1st arhat from the set of 16 great arhats.

"On the great snow mountain of Kailash is the noble elder Angaja, surrounded by 1,300 arhats; homage to the One holding an incense bowl and fly whisk." (Sakya liturgical verse).

The Sixteen Great Arhats are generally painted as a set. Typically the full group would include the buddha Shakyamuni, the 16 arhats, the attendant Dharmatala, the patron Hvashang and the Four Guardians of the Directions: Vaishravana, Virupaksha, Dritarashtra and Virudhaka.

Database Search: All Images

Jeff Watt 5-99 [updated 8-2017, 1-2020]