Himalayan Art Resources

Subject: Fifty Chapter Mahakala Tantra

Mahakala Main Page

Subjects, Topics & Types:
- Fifty Chapter Mahakala Tantra Description (below)
- Twenty-five Chapter Mahakala Tantra
- Eight Chapter Mahakala Tantra
- Masterworks
- Confusions
- Others...

Eight Forms of Mahakala:
1. Two-armed solitary with two retinue figures (right arm raised or placed at the heart)
2. Four-armed solitary with four retinue figures
3. Six-armed
4. Eight-armed with consort
5. Ten-armed with consort
6. Twelve-armed with consort
7. Fourteen-armed with consort
8. Sixteen-armed with consort

There are eight forms of Mahakala described in the Fifty Chapter Mahakala Tantra (Mahakala Tantraraja Nama. nag po chen po mgon po mngon par 'byung ba zhes bya ba'i rgyud kyi rgyal po. [TBRC w25348]).

Jeff Watt 3-2015 [updated 6-2017]

Read more at BDRC