Himalayan Art Resources

Padmasambhava: Life Story Main Page

Padmasambhava: Life Story | Padmasambhava Main Page

Subjects, Topics & Sets:
- Life Story Description (below)
- Single Composition
- PMA Set 1
- RMA Set 1: HAR #1023, #1024
- RMA Set 2
- RMA Set 3
- Shechen Set 1
- Shechen Set 2
- Shechen Set 3
- Tibetan Painted Scrolls Set 1
- Tibetan Painted Scrolls Set 2
- Masterworks
- Life Story Paintings Main Page
- Confusions
- Others...

The life story of Padmasambhava is depicted either with the entire story told in a single composition, a set of painted compositions or as a mural. In a series of paintings, the compositions typically number 3, 5, or 9 in total. The Eight Forms of Padmasambhava are crucial for understanding the Life Story. These eight, called the Guru Tsangye (gu ru mtshan brgyad), are special forms representing in chronological order eight different life changing events and physical locations in the life story of Padmasambhava.

With the identifying and cataloging of the Life Story paintings, all appear to be from the third period of Nyingma development, 17th century to the present, and relate the narrative of the Revealed Treasure (Terma) Tradition.

Jeff Watt [updated 8-2013, 6-2017]