Himalayan Art Resources

Bon Deity: Walse Ngampa Main Page

Bon Wrathful Deities Page

Subjects, Topics & Types:
- Description (below)
- Initiation Card Set
- Five Fortress Deities
- Deities Riding a Bird
- Masterworks
- Confusions: Walchen Gekho
- Others...

Tibetan: Yidam Walse Ngampa (yid dam dbal g.sas rngam pa).

Walse belongs to the group of five wrathful deities known as the Five Fortress Meditational Deities (yi dam g.sas mkhar mchog lnga).

Wrathful in appearance, blue-black in colour, with nine faces and eighteen hands, the three main faces are blue, white and red. Each face has three eyes. Above, the middle faces are that of a tiger, lion and leopard. Above that are a dragon, kyung (King of Birds) and chusing (water monster). Dark yellow flame-like hair flows upward. The two main hands hold a purba (peg) at the heart and embrace the consort - with one face, two hands, and green of colour, wearing a leopard skin skirt. The remaining hands extend to the sides holding various weapons, animals and miscellaneous objects. The main faces are adorned with crowns, earrings and the like. Wrathful vestments decorate the body. In a threatening posture with the left leg bent and the right straight, above two naked figures, a sun disc, multi-coloured lotus and a square throne, he is surrounded by brightly burning orange and red flames of wisdom.

Jeff Watt [updated 6-2017, 7-2018]