Himalayan Art Resources

Tradition: Nyingma Mother Monasteries

Nyingma Tradition Main Page

Six Mother Monasteries (See Outline Page):
- Katog Dorje Den (1159)
- Tubten Dorje Drag (1632)
- Palyul Namgyal Jangchub Ling (1665)
- Urgyan Mindroling (1676)
- Dzogchen Urgyan Samten Choling (1685)
- Shechen Tennyi Dargye Ling (1735)

(An earlier inclusion in place of Shechen Monastery was Chongye Palri Tegchog Ling. Dodrubchen Monastery is sometimes substituted for Katog. Samye Monastery was the first monastery in Tibet established by King Trisong Detsen and Shantirakshita with the help of Padmasambhava and later under Sakya supervision from the time of Sakya Pandita Kunga Gyaltsen (1182-1251).

Jeff Watt [updated 8-2019, 12-2019]

(The images below are only a selection of examples from the links above).