Himalayan Art Resources

Incarnation Lineage: Panchen Lama Religious Context

Panchen Lama Main Page

Subjects, Topics & Types:
- Description (below)
- Pre-incarnations
- Outline Page
- Tashi Lhunpo Cityscapes
- Dalai Lama
- Gelug Tradition Main Page
- Qianlong Emperor
- Confusions: Changkya, Jetsun Dampa
- Others...

- Panchen Lama in Art. Part 1
- Panchen Lama: Part 2

The monastery of Tashi Lhunpo was founded by Gendun Drub, who was later to be posthumously acknowledged as the 1st Dalai Lama. It was the tradition of the monastery that each successive abbot have the title of Panchen. After the time of Lobzang Chokyi Gyaltsen, the 5th abbot, the title of Panchen became the official name of his successive reincarnation lineage. Three previous abbots of Tashi Lhunpo were also posthumously named Panchen incarnations.

Jeff Watt Jeff Watt 4-2003 [updated 1-2019, 1-2020]

(The images below are only a selection of examples from the links above).