Himalayan Art Resources

Item: Miscellaneous - Offerings

པར་ཤིང་སྣང་བརྙན། སྣ་ཚོགས། 版画 (多种)
(item no. 58989)
Origin Location Tibet
Date Range 1800 - 1899
Lineages Buddhist
Material Ground Mineral Pigment on Silk
Collection Rubin Museum of Art
Notes about the Central Figure

Classification: Object/Concept

Interpretation / Description

The Seven Jewels of Royalty: 1. Wheel 2. Jewel 3. Queen 4. Minister 5. Elephant 6. Horse 7. General. These seven possessions are the insignia and symbols of a Universal Monarch.

The banner is made up of seven pieces of yellow silk with painted depictions of the Seven Jewels of Royalty on five of the panels. The central panel depicts Mount Sumeru and the painting on the far right dispalys a variety of wrathful offerings.

Jeff Watt 5-2012

Secondary Images
Related Items
Thematic Sets
Subject: Seven Jewels of Royalty Silk Banner
Subject: Strings of Miniature Paintings (Banners)