Himalayan Art Resources

Item: Mahottara Heruka (Buddhist Deity) - (21 Faces)

ཆེ་མཆོག་ཧེ་རུ་ཀ། 嘿噜嘎 (八大法)
(item no. 73464)
Origin Location Eastern Tibet
Date Range 1900 - 1959
Lineages Nyingma
Material Ground Mineral Pigment on Cotton
Collection Private
Notes about the Central Figure

Classification: Deity

Appearance: Wrathful

Gender: Male

Interpretation / Description

Mahottara and the Eight Pronouncement Deities of the Nyingma Tradition of Tibetan Buddhism.

Yellow Numbered List - Teachers:
1. Padmasambhava
2. Trisongdetsen
3. Yeshe Tsogyal
4. Nyanral Nyima Ozer

White Numbered List - Deities:
1. Mahottara
2. Samantabhadra Buddha
3. Lama Rigdzin
4. Hayagriva
5. Dregdul
6. Purba
7. Khyobden Nagpo
8. Chaturbhuja
9. Chemchog
10. Lame
11. Shinje

Secondary Images
Related Items
Thematic Sets
Collection: Private 4 (Painting 20th Century)
Teacher: Nyangral Nyima Ozer (Related Subjects)
Collection: Private 4 (Painting)
Collection: Private 4 (Black Ground)
Buddhist Deity: Mahottara Heruka (Maroon Body, 21 Faces)
Subject: Trampled Gods & Deities Page (Numbers)
Buddhist Deity: Mahottara Heruka (21 Faces)
Collection: Private 4 (Wrathful Appearance)
Collection: Private 4 (Black Ground, Plus 2 Protectors)