Himalayan Art Resources

Subject: Thirteen Golden Dharmas (Zurich)

Golden Dharmas Main Page | Golden Dharmas Outline Page

Thirteen Golden Dharmas (Tib.: ser cho chu sum): a set of thirteen or more special meditation practices extracted from numerous different Tantra systems. There are several sets or enumerations that make up the Thirteen. The deities standard to all sets are the Three Red Ones (Marmo Kor Sum); Vajrayogini of Naropa, Vajrayogini of Indrabhuti and Vajrayogini of Maitripa - all from the Chakrasamvara cycle of Tantras. The Three Great Red Ones (Marpo Kor Sum); Kurukulla of the Hevajra Tantra, Takkiraja of the Guhyasamaja and Maharakta Ganapati associated with the Chakrasamvara. The Three Small Red Ones (Marchung Kor Sum); Kurukulla-Tara, Red Vasudhara and Tinuma. The four standard remaining deities are Black Manjushri, Shabala Garuda from the Kalachakra Tantra, Simhanada Avalokiteshvara from its own tantra and Red Jambhala from the Chakrasamvara. Alternates are the dakini Simhamukha associated with the Chakrasamvara, Amaravajradevi of the Chakrasamvara and Nine Deity Amitayus from its own Tantra.

Video: Thirteen Golden Dharmas

Jeff Watt 8-2008 [updated 11-2019]