Himalayan Art Resources

Subject: Thirteen Golden Dharmas of Sakya

Thirteen Golden Dharmas Main Page | Sakya Tradition Main Page

Subjects, Topics & Types:
- Thirteen Golden Dharmas Description (below)
- Thirteen Golden Dharmas Outline Page
- Three Red Ones
- Three Great Red Ones
- Three Small Red Ones
- Miscellaneous Four Deities
- Thirteen Golden Dharmas (Zurich)
- Masterworks
- Confusions
- Others...

Thirteen Golden Dharmas (Tib.: ser cho chu sum): there are several sets, or enumerations, that make up the Thirteen Golden Dharmas of the Sakya Tradition of Tibetan Buddhism.

Those that are standard to all sets are the three sets of Three Red Ones (mar mo kor sum): (1) Vajrayogini of Naropa, (2) Vajrayogini of Indrabhuti and (3) Vajrayogini of Maitripa - all from the Chakrasamvara cycle of Tantras.

The Three Great Red Ones (mar po kor sum): (4) Kurukulla of the Hevajra Tantra, (5) Takkiraja of the Guhyasamaja Tantra and (6) Maharakta Ganapati associated with the Chakrasamvara Tantra (see Maharakta Outline Page).

The Three Small Red Ones (mar chung kor sum): (7) Kurukulla-Tara of the Vajrapanjara Tantra, (8) Red Vasudhara of the Chakrasamvara cycle of Tantras and (9) Tinuma, the activity form of Vajravarahi, also of the Chakrasamvara cycle.

The four standard remaining deities are (10) Black Manjushri, (11) Shabala Garuda from the Kalachakra Tantra, (12) Simhanada Avalokiteshvara from its own tantra and (13) Red Jambhala from the Chakrasamvara Tantra.

Alternates that are added or used as substitutes to the above list are (14) Simhamukha Dakini associated with the Chakrasamvara Tantra, (15) Amaravajradevi also of the Chakrasamvara Tantra and (16) Buddha Amitayus (white or red) from his own Tantra.

Jeff Watt [updated 2-2018]