Himalayan Art Resources

Painting Set: Dalai Lama Incarnations (Kazi Lhazo)

Dalai Lama Main Page

Subjects, Topics & Types:
- Incarnation Set Description (below)
- Artist: Khazi Lhazo
- Annotated Images
- Dalai Lama Set Outline Page
- Masterworks
- Confusions
- Others...

Detail Images of the Seven Paintings: 5th Dalai Lama | Songtsen Gampo | Dromtonpa | 1st Dalai Lama | 2nd Dalai Lama | 3rd Dalai Lama | 4th Dalai Lama

Detail Images of Artistic Elements: Faces | Animals | Birds | Foliage

Dalai Lama Incarnation Seven Painting Set:
The seven painting set below depicts the previous incarnations of Dalai Lamas along with the post 5th Dalai Lama incarnations up to and including the 9th Dalai Lama. The central painting depicts Ngagwang Lobzang Gyatso (1617-1682), the 5th Dalai Lama, with three paintings to either side. It is most probable, based on the last Dalai Lama depicted, that the paintings were done between 1810 and 1823 prior to the official selection and enthronement of the 10th Dalai Lama.

The artist is believed to be from the Dagyab area of East Tibet, just south of Chamdo. He goes by the name of Kazi Lhazo, meaning the 'artist of Kazi village.' He is known through a number of other paintings and painting sets following the same unique style, composition, colour and characteristic brush strokes. Kazi lhazo was most prolific during the last decades of the 18th century and the beginning of the 19th century. (See the Outline Page depicting all seven paintings as they would be viewed together).

Jeff Watt 4-2008 [updated 8- 2012, 9-2017]

(See Annotated Image Gallery)