Himalayan Art Resources

Painting Set: Eight Chariots (Dege Block Print)

Eight Chariots Main Page | Eight Chariots Outline Page

The Dege block print images are a 20th century creation as evidenced by the depiction of Jamyang Khyentse Chokyi Lodro at the bottom center of at least two of the compositions. The Dege Printing House set has nine compositions in total representing the Eight Chariots. In the Dege set the Jonang and Shalu Traditrions are listed together and depicted in a single composition. The Mind Training system of the Kadampa is represented by Atisha as the central figure and the Gandenpa Tradition represented in a separate composition by Tsongkapa. The composition of Tsongkapa was likely added to balance out the set making sure to have a central painting (Padmasambhava) and four compositions on each side of that to balance the complete composition.

The Eight Chariots are:
(1) Nyingma (center): with Jamyang Chokyi Lodro at the bottom center
(2) Kadampa Mind Training Precepts (right 1): Jamyang Loter Wangpo
(3) Zhije & Cho (left 1): Machig Labdron
(4) Margapala, Sakya (right 2): Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo
(5) Dagpo Kagyu Mahamudra Tradition (left 2): 16th Karmapa, Rangjung Rigpa'i Dorje
(6) Six Dharmas of Niguma, Shangpa (right 3): Shadbhuja Mahakala
(7) Six Branches, Kalachakra (left 3): Jamgon Kongtrul Lodro Taye
(8) Orgyan Nyendrub (right 4): Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo
(9) Gandenpa (left 4): 14th Dalai Lama, Tenzin Gyatso