Himalayan Art Resources

Iconography: Three Moods & Gender Page

Buddhist Iconography

Three Moods & Gender:
- Three Moods Explanation
- Three Moods Outline
--- Peaceful Mood/appearance
--- Semi-peaceful/semi-wrathful Mood/appearance
--- Wrathful Mood/appearance
- Gender & Iconography
- Eleven Figurative Forms
- Confusions
- Others...

- Figurative Art: Three Moods

The moods are the basic explanation of facial and body types in Himalayan art. The use of the term 'mood' is also synonymous with appearance and the Eleven Figurative Forms. In Sanskrit the three are known as deva (peaceful), rishi (semi) and raksha (wrathful) appearance, or mood.

Jeff Watt [updated 5-2017, 7-2020]