Himalayan Art Resources

Item: Shakyamuni Buddha

ཤཱཀྱ་ཐུབ་པ། 释迦牟尼佛
(item no. 81422)
Origin Location Tibet
Date Range 1800 - 1899
Lineages Buddhist
Collection Private
Notes about the Central Figure

Classification: Person

Interpretation / Description

Shakyamuni Buddha accompanied by the Eight Great Bodhisattvas and two arhat figures. Compositions such as this represent the principal characters in Mahayana Buddhism while incorporating the Hinayana Path. The Mahayana is represented by the eight bodhisattvas and the Hinayana by the two arhats at the bottom of the composition - possibly Shariputra and Maudgalyayana.

Eight Great Bodhisattva:
- Akashagarbha: from the Womb of Space Sutra
- Avalokiteshvara: from the Heart Sutra & Lotus of the Good Law Sutra
- Kshitigarbha: from the Earth Store Sutra
- Maitreya: mentioned in the Pali Sutras as the next buddha & in the Mahayana Sutras
- Manjushri: from the Vimalakirti-nirdesha Sutra, Flower Garland Sutra & Prajnaparamita Sutras
- Nivarana-vishkhambhin
- Samantabhadra: from the Lotus of the Good Law & Flower Garland Sutra
- Vajrapani: Early Sutras

Jeff Watt 7-2011

Numbered Image:
- Shakyamuni Buddha
1. Akashagarbha
2. Nivarana-vishkambhin
3. Kshitagarbha
4. Maitreya
5. Vajrapani
6. Manjushri
7. Samantabhadra
8. Avalokiteshvara
A. Shariputra (?)
B. Maudgalyayana (?)

Secondary Images
Related Items
Thematic Sets
Subject: Mahayana Buddhism Main Page
Shakyamuni Buddha: Main Page
Collection: Private 10
Buddhist Figure: Bodhisattva List
Subject: Eight Great Bodhisattvas (Main Page)