Himalayan Art Resources

Tradition: Drigung Kagyu Main Page

Kagyu Main Page

Subjects & Topics:
- Drigung Kagyu Definition (below)
- Pagmodrubpa
- Jigten Sumgon
- Drigung Kagyu Lineage
Achi Chokyi Drolma
- Refuge Field
- Masterworks
- Confusions
- Others...

Database Search: All Images

Jeff Watt [updated 6-2017]


"The Kagyud Tradition developed from the teachings of Naropa and Maitrepa. The main founders of all the sects of the Kagyud are the three Great Masters: Marpa, Milarepa and Gampopa. From these three Masters the Kagyud Lineage scattered into the four major and eight minor Lineages. It was from Gampopa's disciple, Phagmo Drupa that most of these lineages of the Kagyud Tradition came, spreading in many different directions. Presently there are four which have not faded and still exist: the Karma Kagyud, Drukpa Kagyud, Drigung Kagyud and Taglung Kagyud. The Dharma lineages of the others have become very subtle or thin (having mostly been absorbed into larger lineages)."

(Excerpt from the Opening of the Dharma, A Brief Explanation of the Essence of the Limitless Vehicles of the Buddha. Written by Dzongsar Jamyang Khyentse Chokyi Lodro. Translated by Dzongsar Jamyang Khyentse Chokyi Gyatso, Malaysia, October 1984).