Himalayan Art Resources

Tradition: Taglung Kagyu Main Page

Kagyu Main Page

Subjects & Topics:
- Taglung Kagyu Definition (below)
- Taglung Monastery
- Taglung Tangpa Chenpo
- Sanggye Yarjon
- Taglung Style Painting
- Early Paintings of Teachers
- Masterworks
- Confusions
- Others...

Taglung Lineage:
1. Shakyamuni Buddha
2. Vajradhara
3. Tilopa
4. Naropa
5. Marpa Chokyi Lodro
6. Milarepa Zhepa Dorje
7. Gampopa Sonam Rinchen
8. Pagmodrubpa Dorje Gyalpo (1110-1170) p127
9. Taglung Tangpa Chenpo, Tashi Pal (1142-1209/10) p2649
10. Kuyalwa (Onpo) Rinchen Gonpo (1191-1236) p1784
11. Sanggye Yarjon (1203-1272) p1818
12. Sanggye Onpo (1251-1296) 4th abbot ?
13. Tashi Lama (Mangala Guru, 1231-1297) [p8428] 4th abbot ?
14. Others....


"The Kagyud Tradition developed from the teachings of Naropa and Maitrepa. The main founders of all the sects of the Kagyud are the three Great Masters: Marpa, Milarepa and Gampopa. From these three Masters the Kagyud Lineage scattered into the four major and eight minor Lineages. It was from Gampopa's disciple, Phagmo Drupa that most of these lineages of the Kagyud Tradition came, spreading in many different directions. Presently there are four which have not faded and still exist: the Karma Kagyud, Drukpa Kagyud, Drigung Kagyud and Taglung Kagyud. The Dharma lineages of the others have become very subtle or thin (having mostly been absorbed into larger lineages)."

(Excerpt from the Opening of the Dharma, A Brief Explanation of the Essence of the Limitless Vehicles of the Buddha. Written by Dzongsar Jamyang Khyentse Chokyi Lodro. Translated by Dzongsar Jamyang Khyentse Chokyi Gyatso, Malaysia, October 1984).

(Also see A Thang ka Portrait of 'Bri gung rin chen dpal, 'Jig rten gsum mgon (1143-1217). Amy Heller, Affiliated with Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique. JIATS, no. 1 (October 2005), THL #T1222, 10 pp. (c)2005 by Amy Heller, IATS, and THL).

Taglung Throne Holders (Stag lung khri pa):
1. Stag lung thang pa bkra shis dpal (1142-1210)
2. Dbon po dkar po rin chen mgon po (1191-1236)
3. Sangs srgyas yar byon ( 1203-1272)
4. Bkra shis bla ma (mangala guru) (1231-1297)
5. Stag lung dbon po sangs rgyas dpal bzang (1257-1311
6. Ratna guru (rin chen bla ma) (1288-1327)
7. Ratna kara (rin chen 'byung gnas) (1300-1361)
8. Nam mkha' dpal bzang (1333-1379)
9. Bkra shis dpal brtsegs (1359-1424)
10. Byang chub rgya mtsho (1403-1448)
11. Bkra shis dpal 'od (1408-1460)
12. Ngag dbang grags pa (1418-1496)
13. Rnam rgyal grags pa (1469-1530)
14. Bsod nams ye shes dpal bzang (1472-1520)
15. Rnam rgyal bkra shis (1524-1563)
16. Kun dga' bkra shis (1536-1605)
17. Ngag dbang rnam rgyal (1572-1626)
18. Missing
19. Missing
20. Bkra shis dpal grub (1600-1672)
21. Ngag gi dbang phyug (17th Century)
22. Rnam rgyal legs grub (17th century)
23. 'o jo zhabs drung bkra shis chos kyi rgyal po (1660-1689)
24. Bstan 'dzin rnam rgyal (1667-1720)