Himalayan Art Resources

Tradition: Jonang Main Page

Jonang Masterworks

- Art History

- Iconography

- Religious Context

- Jonang Painting Sets
- Jonang Study Guide
- Protectors: Jonang, Bodong & Bulug
- Hats: Jonang, Bodong, Bulug & Shangpa
- Jonang Tradition Art Recognition Complexities (HAR on Patreon [18 min.])

The Jonang Tradition, named after a mountain valley in the Tsang Province, was established in the late 13th and early 14th century by Kunpang Tugje Tsondru. During the early period, up to the mid 17th century, the focus was on three principal practices, the Kalachakra, Margapala and the Shangpa Kagyu. Although not included as one of the major traditions of Tibet according to the 17th century classification by the Tibetan government of the 5th Dalai Lama, the Jonang is however included as one of the Eight Chariots of Spiritual Accomplishment which was later adopted and promoted by Jamgon Kongtrul Lodro Taye in the late 19th century.

Database Search: All Images | Painting | Sculpture | Mandala | Teachers

Jeff Watt [updated 2-2020]

Lotsawa House: Jonang Series
"There are three Traditions holding the lineage of Sakya Pandita: the Sakya, the Ngor and the Tshar. From the root of the Sakya Tradition came the three renowned lineages of Bulug, Jonang and Bodong. From all these, a few minor differences in their views of the Sutras and Tantras have emerged from their explanations."

(Excerpt from the Opening of the Dharma, A Brief Explanation of the Essence of the Limitless Vehicles of the Buddha. Written by Dzongsar Jamyang Khyentse Chokyi Lodro. Translated by Dzongsar Jamyang Khyentse Chokyi Gyatso, Malaysia, October 1984).