Himalayan Art Resources

Tradition: Shalu/Bulug Main Page

Shalu Tradition Main Page | Sakya Tradition Main Page

Subjects & Topics:
- Bulug Tradition Explanation (below)
- Shalu Monastery Main Page
- Monasteries & Branch Schools Outline
- Buton Tamche Khyenpa Rinchen Drub
- Religious Traditions Grouped by Relationship
- Sakya Outline Page
- Khon Lineage
- Protectors Outline
- Blue Annals: Lamdre
- Blue Annals: Zhama
- Buton: Mahasiddha List
- Masterworks
- Confusions
- Others...


"There are three Traditions holding the lineage of Sakya Pandita: the Sakya, the Ngor and the Tshar. From the root of the Sakya Tradition came the three renowned lineages of Bulug, Jonang and Bodong. From all these, a few minor differences in their views of the Sutras and Tantras have emerged from their explanations."

(Excerpt from the Opening of the Dharma, A Brief Explanation of the Essence of the Limitless Vehicles of the Buddha. Written by Dzongsar Jamyang Khyentse Chokyi Lodro. Translated by Dzongsar Jamyang Khyentse Chokyi Gyatso, Malaysia, October 1984).