Himalayan Art Resources

Subject: Six Buddhas of the Six Realms (Guhyagarbha)

Buddha Page

Subjects, Topics & Types:
- Description (below)
- Principal Topics:
--- Source/s: Guhyagarbha Tantra
--- Function/uses: Shitro, Revealed Treasure, Wheel of Life
- Bardo Todal Deities
- Dulwa Shen Drug (Bon Religion)
- Confusions: Deva Yama, Yama (Judge in Hell), Dharmapala Yama Dharmaraja, Buddha Yama Dharmaraja (below), Demon of Impermanence
- Others...

Six Sages (muni) of the Six Realms:
- God Realm, Indrashakra (white)
- Asuras, Vemachitra (blue)
- Human, Shakyamuni (gold)
- Animals, Sthirasimha (blue)
- Ghost, Jvalamukha (red)
- Hell, Yama Dharmaraja (blue)

- Six Buddhas of the Six Realms
- Buddha Definition
- Buddha Appearance
- Buddha Number Sets
- The Five Buddhas
- Buddha Characteristics & Identification (Painting)

The root text for the Six Sages comes out of the short version of the Guhyagarbha in twenty-two chapters. The colours of the six different sages are not always consistent between 'Revealed Treasure' traditions. There are different Treasure Revealers (terton) associated with the Six Sages such as the Karma Lingpa, Ratna Lingpa and Jatson Nyingpo traditions.

Jeff Watt [updated 7-2022]

Guhyagarbha Tantra:

'Cha is the enlightened mind of wisdom compassion.
E is however many gods exist, like particles of sand.
Ee is however many demi-gods exist like particles.
Oo is however many humans exist like particles.
Oo is however many animals exist like particles.
Eh is however many deprived spirits exist like particles.
Eh is however many hell beings exist like particles.'

'Through this great gathering wheel of syllables, all garlands of enlightened body, speech and mind are subsumed. Thus, this is expressed. Ah ho!'

The Guhyagarbha Tantra, Secret Essence Definitive Nature Just As It Is. Translated by Lama Chonam and Sangye Khandro of the Light of Berotsana Translation Group under the Guidance of Khen Rinpoche Namdrol. Snow Lion Publications, 2011. [Page 51].