Himalayan Art Resources

Buddhist Deity: Tinuma (Vajrayogini) Main Page

Tinuma | Vajrayogini Main Page

Subjects, Topics & Types:
- Tinuma Description (below)
- Three Small Red Ones
- Thirteen Golden Dharmas
- Vajrayogini Index of Names
- Masterworks
- Confusions
- Others...

Vajrayogini, Tinuma: belonging to the Chakrasamvara Cycle of Tantras, and in Tibet commonly associated with the 'Three Smaller Red Ones' from the collection of deities known in the Sakya Tradition of Tibetan Buddhism as the 'Thirteen Golden Dharmas.' (See Thirteen Golden Dharmas outline page).

"...Devi Tinu, with a body red in colour, the right [hand] holds a curved knife aloft and the left a blood filled skullcup to the heart. The left leg is extended in a half posture dancing atop a lotus and moon." (Taranata, Rinjung. folio 437).

Jeff Watt 7-2010 [updated 8-2018]