Himalayan Art Resources

Arhat/Sthavira: Art History

Arhat/Sthavira Main Page

Subjects, Topics & Types:
- Art History Topics
- Masterworks
- List of Elders & Related Figures
- Arhat/Sthavira Art Topics Outline
- Arhat/Sthavira Outline
- Arhat/Sthavira Resource Page Outline
- Painting: Traditions & Styles
- Sculpture Examples
- Textile Examples
- Mandala Paintings
- Sets, Composition, Medium & Subjects
- Yongle Style
- Regions
- Early Period: 11th to 14th century
- Middle Period: 15th to 17th century
- Late Period: 18th to present
- Confusions
- Others...

Shakyamuni Buddha is the central figure, the first painting or sculpture, for all sets of the Sixteen Great Elders. The full group of elders always has twenty-five figures: the Buddha Shakyamuni, together with the two foremost disciples - Shariputra and Maudgalyayana, the sixteen Elders, the attendant Dharmata, the patron Hvashang and the Four Guardians of the Directions; Vaishravana, Virupaksha, Dhritarashtra and Virudhaka. In all an extensive set of paintings would comprise twenty-three individual paintings. The two foremost disciples are almost always portrayed in the same painted composition with Buddha Shakyamuni. In sculpture sets the total number of pieces is twenty-five. In the Tibetan system there are only sixteen elders.

Database Search: All Images | Painting | Sculpture

Jeff Watt 3-2000 [updated 6-2015, 4-2017, 12-2019]

(The images below are only a selection of examples from the links above).