Himalayan Art Resources

Subject: Five Foremost Mahasiddhas (Sakya Tradition)

Sakya Religious Context

The Five Foremost Mahasiddhas of the Sakya Tradition are quite reasonably the five siddhas related to the five most important tantric cycles practiced in the Sakya Tradition. The siddhas are Virupa, Naropa, Nagarjuna, Vararuchi and Padmasambhava. This represents only one of many systems for organizing the different teachers and tantric cycles of practice. Another popular system is called the Four Tantras which include the Hevajra, Chakrasamvara, Guhyasamaja and Vajrabhairava.

Five Siddhas:
- Virupa for Hevajra & the Margapala (Lamdre)
- Naropa for Vajrayogini
- Nagarjuna for Guhyasamaja
- Vararuchi for Mahakala
- Padmasambhava for Vajrakila

Jeff Watt 12-2021