Himalayan Art Resources

Subject: Life Story Paintings (Subjects)

Life Story Paintings (Subjects) | Life Story Paintings Main Page

Subjects, Topics & Types:
- Life Story Paintings Description (below)
- Shakyamuni Buddha
- Sixteen Great Elders & Two Attendants
- Four Guardian Kings
- Tonpa Shenrab
- Eight Great Bodhisattvas
- Indian Teachers
- Tibetan Teachers
- Confusions
- Others...

1. Subjects of Life Story Paintings: The two most common life stories to be depicted in Tibetan art are those of Shakyamuni Buddha, the founder of Buddhism, and Tonpa Shenrab, the founder of the Bon Religion. For Shakyamuni Buddha the subject of life story is further divided into three or four categories. The life story of Tonpa Shenrab is divided into two categories. The two founders are followed by the Eight Great Bodhisattvas, the Six Ornaments and Two Excellent Ones, Padmasambhava, and a few miscellaneous Indian teachers - scholars and mahasiddhas. For the important Tibetan historical figures there are many depictions of life stories such as that of Milarepa, Chogyal Pagpa and Je Tsongkapa.

The Individual Subjects of Life Story Painting

Shakyamuni Buddha Life Story Subject Categories:
1. Life Story - Highlighting the Twelve Deeds (Single Composition)
2. Jataka Stories - Thirty-four Previous Lives
3. Avadhana Stories - One Hundred and Eight Previous Lives of the Buddha & Disciples
4. Shakyamuni Buddha & The Sixteen Arhats - Lives of the Arhats (Dege Block Prints)

Tonpa Shenrab Life Story Subject Categories:
1. Life Story
2. Previous Life Stories

Eight Bodhisattva:
- Manjushri
- Maitreya
- others...

Indian Teachers of Buddhism:
- The Six Ornaments & Two Excellent Ones
- Indian Teachers & Mahasiddhas (Miscellaneous)
- Padmasambhava
- Atisha
- Lamrim Lineage (Early Teachers)
- Others...

Tibetan Teachers:
- Chogyal Pagpa
- Dalai Lama 5th, Ngagwang Lobzang Gyatso
- Dalai Lama 7th, Kalzang Gyatso
- Jamgon Ameshab (Sakya Tridzin)
- Lamrim Lineage (Tibetan Teachers)
- Lowo Khenchen Sonam Lhundrub
- Machig Labdron
- Milarepa
- Shamarpa 4, Chodag Yeshe Palzang
- Tangtong Gyalpo
- Tsongkapa
- Others...