Himalayan Art Resources

Buddhist Deity: Vajrapani, Wrathful Figures

Vajrapani Iconography

Subjects, Topics & Types:
- Description (below)
- Physical Appearance
- Names & Traditions
- Compendia Collections

Videos: All Vajrapani Videos

The two wrathful forms of Vajrapani known as the Sutra Tradition (do lug) and the Nilambhara (dro zang lug), each with one face and two hands, do not have skull crowns or wrathful ornaments such as the fifty freshly severed heads. They do however wear the eight races of nagas depicted as snakes - bracelets, anklets, etc. Mahachakra Vajrapani is sometimes depicted with a skull crown and at other times shown with a jeweled crown. Almost all of the other wrathful forms of Vajrapani have the same fearsome regalia as typical of wrathful Tantric deities such as Vajrabhairava, Vajrakila, Mahakala and the like. The various forms of Vajrapani as a meditational deity are derived from the textual sources of the early Tantras. [4-2011]

Database Search: All Images | Painting | Sculpture

Jeff Watt [page added 6-2020]

(The images below are only a selection of examples from the links above).