Himalayan Art Resources

Buddhist Deity: Tara (Yoganiruttara, Anuttarayoga)

Tara Religious Context

Subjects, Topics & Types:
- Description (below)
- Vajra Tara 11 Deity Mandala (Vajravali, Vajra Panjara)
- Green Tara 17 Deity Mandala (Surya Gupta)
- Vajra Tara 19 Deity Mandala (Mitra Gyatsa, Vajra Panjara)
- Twenty-one (21) Praises to Tara (Tantra)
- Chittamani Tara, Solitary (Tagpupa Tradition, 18th century)
- Chintamani Chakra Tara with 9 Deities (Khyentse Wangpo, 19th century)
- Confusions
- Others...

- A Question on Female Representation
- Male & Female: How to distinguish male from female figures

The list above and the images below represent the different forms of Tara, green, yellow and white, that belong to the yoganiruttara yoga classification of Buddhist Tantra. The 11, 17, 19 and 21 configurations of Tara are derived from Sanskrit literature of the 1st millennium. The Tagpuwa and Khyentse Taras are either pure vision or 'revealed treasure' tradition forms of the deity from the 18th and 19th centuries respectively.

Jeff Watt 1-2022

(The images below are only a selection of examples from the links above).